Øyvind Nypan guitar
Ben Wendel saxophone
Taylor Eigsti piano
Joe Martin bass
Justin Faulkner drums

CD info

Release No: LOS 198-2
EAN: 7090025831980

LP info

Release No: LOS 198-1 (180gram vinyl)
EAN: 7090025835056

Recorded January 5th, 2017 by Tom Tedesco at Tedescoo Studios, New York
Mixed and mastered by Morgan Nicolaysen at Propeller Mastering, Oslo
Produced by Øyvind Nypan
Front cover photo by Ronny Østnes

Download Press Release (PDF)
Digisleeve in the link below:
Download Press Release (PDF)

Kjøp plater direkte fra Losen Records. Kr 200,- per CD inkl. porto. Vipps til 99 00 61 90 og mail navn og adresse til
Pris på LP –  Kr 350,- inklusive porto

A Dream Come True
Obvious question: How did this record come about?
Answer: Because the Norwegian guitarist Øyvind Nypan had for a long time nourished what he calls «a dream project», and finally got around to make it happen for real.

Nypan’s dream? Travel to New York City, gather four of his favourite musicians and record his own music.

Main problems: Funding the project. Establishing contact with the musicians, finding the right studio and setting a date for the session.

– When I finally started to pull the strings, things turned out to be less complicated than expected, says Nypan. He had never met or even spoken with any of the musicians before. The first one that he contacted by was the pianist Taylor Eigsti.
– Pianos are next to impossible to move, so I wanted to know which were his preferred studios in New York, says Nypan. That question answered, Nypan went on to contact bassist Joe Martin, drummer Justin Faulkner and saxophonist Ben Wendel, asking if they were available for studio work, enclosing a few files with music from his earlier albums as examples of his playing. The three, who like Eigsti are highly respected and highly-in-demand New York-musicians, accepted the request, and in January 2017 met their Norwegian colleague for the recording session.
– Some of the tunes I had sent them in advance, others I brought with me, but basically they played everything right off the cuff. Which was fine with me, I knew that these guys are very busy professionals who don’t have too much time for preparation. In my e-mails, I had emphasized that I intended to bring along some fairly uncomplicated compositions, and that I hoped for a blowing session with five guys really playing together rather than a record session with five guys standing around trying to learn and handle intricate melodies. A blowing session is what I got, but even if these tunes are not very complicated, I am really impressed by how fast and how well Ben, Taylor, Joe and Justin found their way into what was presented to them on paper. Although they had never played together as a foursome, and of course none of them had played with me, I think we managed to get a certain band-feeling going, which was what I hoped for. We cut ten songs in the five hours that we had at our disposal on that day, and my reason for dropping two songs from the album has nothing to do with quality, they just didn’t fit in stylistically. Maybe eventually I’ll release them as bonus tracks but I have to say that I am very happy with this album as it is.

Øyvind Nypan is a guitar player born in Trondheim, Norway. After moving to Paris in he became a member of the Fredrika Stahl band, recording and touring the world for a couple of years. This led to new musical relationships, new albums and new tours.

His first album as a leader ”Elements” was recorded in 2010 and features the French bass player Pierre Boussaguet as well as the eminent saxophone player Petter Wettre and Shining keyboard monster Bernt Moen..
His second album ”Republique” was recorded in Paris with tenor player Rick Margitza and was well recieved by the jazz public. In 2017 his third album “Stereotomic” was released on Losen Records getting great reviews all over the place. Nypan Trio featuring Daniel Formo on Hammond organ and Truls Rønning on drums have released two albums “Directions” (2015) and “Life of Three” (2018)
As a member of the punk jazz group The Tronosonic Experience they released their debut album in 2017 on Losen Records. The follow up album is expected later this year on Losen Records as well.

Been collaborating with:
Rick Margitza , Petter Wettre, Erik Smith, Sharik Hasan, Simone Prattico, Fredrika Stahl, Skien Jazzorkester + Audun Kleive, Leonardo Montana, Pierre Boussaguet, Hervé Meschinet de Richemond, Vigleik Storaas, Bernt Moen, Espen Lind, Kirsti Huke Håkon Mjåset Johansen, Cristianssand String Swing Ensemble, Hadrien Feraud, Philippe Baden Powell, Christian Martinez, Robert Mehmet Sinan Ikiz, Sarah Morrow, Jon Pål Inderberg, Palle Wagnberg, Kim Ofstad, Erland Dalen, Per Arne Glorvigen+++

Some selected concerts:
Molde Internasjonale Jazzfestival, Kongsberg Jazzfestival, Billboard Live (Osaka, Tokyo &
Fukuoka), Jazz à Juan (Frankrike), JazzIT (Tyskland), Palatia Jazz (Tyskland), The Tivoli
(Helsingborg), Bodø Jazz Open, Time Show Center (Istanbul), Champs-sur-Marne Jazz Festival (Frankrike),
Tokyo Jazz Festival, Polarjazz, Maijazz, Orleans Jazz Festival (Frankrike), Canalstreet, Madajazzcar (Madagaskar) +++

Saxophonist Ben Wendel (born in Vancouver, Canada in 1976, raised in Los Angeles) has a varied career as a performer, award-winning composer and producer. He is a founding member of the group Kneebody, has worked with among others Ignacio Berroa, Tigran Hamasyan, Antonio Sanchez, Gerald Clayton, Eric Harland, Taylor Eigsti, Snoop Dogg and the artist formerly known as Prince. He has recorded for Sunnyside Records, Motéma Music, Concord Records and Brainfeeder, and has released three solo albums, «Simple Song» (2009), «Frame» (2012) and «What We Bring» (2016). He is an Adjunct at the New School in NYC.

Pianist Taylor Eigsti (born in 1984 in California) has released seven albums as a leader, leads his own bands and has worked with among others Dave Brubeck, Joshua Redman, Nicholas Payton, Esperanza Spalding, Chris Botti, Julian Lage, Gretchen Parlato, Sting, David Benoit, Christian McBride, Marian McPartland,Red Holloway, John Mayer, James Moody, Chris Potter, Ernestine Anderson, Kurt Rosenwinkel, The Clayton Brothers, Dianne Schuur, Ambrose Akinmusire, Hank Jones, Brubeck Brothers, Frederica Von Stade, Becca Stevens, Kendrick Scott Oracle, Sachal Vasandani, and Eric Harland Voyager.

Bassist Joe Martin (born in 1970 in Kansas City) is one of the most sought-after bassists on the current New York City jazz scene. He has performed with among others Andy Bey, Vinicius Cantuaria, Bill Charlap, Billy Drummond, Art Farmer, Aaron Goldberg, Jon Gordon, Ari Hoenig, Joel Frahm, Ethan Iverson, Guillermo Klein, Ivan Lins, Lionel Loueke, Bill McHenry, John McNeil, Brad Mehldau, Mingus Big Band, Ben Monder, Jane Monheit, Chris Potter, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Jaleel Shaw, Edward Simon and Mark Turner. He has two critically acclaimed recordings as a leader, «Not By Chance» featuring Chris Potter, Brad Mehldau, Marcus Gilmore, and «Passage» with Mark Turner, Kevin Hays and Jorge Rossy.

Drummer Justin Faulkner (born in New Jersey in 1991, raised in Philadelphia) hit the jazz scene at the age of 13 playing his first professional gig with bassist Jamaaladeen Tacuma. Since then he has played with among others Peter Nero, Jimmy Heath, Orrin Evans, Sean Jones, Tim Warfield, Bernard Purdie, Pharoah Saunders, Terence Blanchard, Mingus Big Band/Dynasty/Orchestra, Bootsie Barnes, Jacky Terrasson, Terrence Howard, Bilal, Christian McBride, and is the drummer of choice for numerous others. In 2009, he joined the Branford Marsalis Quartet, and also performs with various other ensembles, including several of his own.